It almost seems like old rhetoric but even though we've heard it over and over doesn't mean it ISN'T true. The family is under attack. It is being bombarded with every possible crises to tear it apart. It's sad but true; there is no way to stop this. However, we can slow or stop the progress and it starts with our own families and most importantly, ourselves.  A friend of mine said in a class post this week: "the word "crisis" in Greek means a turning point in a disease." In other words, we can use a crisis as an opportunity for changing course. If something isn't working and hasn't been for a long time, it's time for a new direction. 

I don't know if it's because as humans we tend to be creatures of habit but life has a funny way of turning those habits into diseases which then come to a head in what we can typically define as a crisis.

How we deal with that crisis is within our control.

We can ask ourselves the following questions:
How have we dealt with the disease and subsequent crisis in the past?
Do you wish you would have done things differently?
Is it too late to do that now?
Is your family worth the effort it will take to make the change?
Are you willing to take responsibility for the crises that arise from what possibly isn't your disease or one that you asked for?
If your life can be made better, why wouldn't you do that?

Typically we don't make needed changes because we are fearful so what are you afraid of? 

Are those realistic fears or made up fears and what would you do if you weren't afraid? 

If you've been telling everyone your sob story, blaming everyone but yourself, go stand in front of a mirror and look yourself in the eye and tell it again. Can you lie to yourself? Are you really okay with being a victim? You're okay with letting someone or something hurt you over and over? What will you do differently?

My husband had a very interesting experience a while ago. One day, while resting through an illness, he had a dream. He saw all the past struggles in his life that he would define as major events or even crises and then he was able to recollect how he dealt with each event. The thought then came to him, what will you do differently now? 

That is profound in that, the thought wasn't what would you do differently because we can't go back. It doesn't help and we can't change the past but we can do something different now.

A crisis doesn't need to make or break us. It can change us and put us on a different course, one that moves us away from the disease that was hurting us and others.





Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am returning to school after....several....years. I declared my major as Sociology because that's where the vast amount of my credits were from....several....years ago. I was even signed up for a Soc. class but I never could get excited about it. I got a way for a "Best Friend" overnighter to Helena, MT. (where all great inspiration happens) and after talking Jackie's ear off and getting her educated (she just finished her Bachelor's degree at BYU-I) advice, I switched my major to Marriage and Family and I have felt  like a million bucks ever since (which is good because that is what it will cost me, I'm sure).  I LOVE being a wife and mother and I am fascinated by parenting and families so I'm not quite sure why it took me so long to commit to this course of study but however windy the road, as long as you get there, who cares!!

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All