This week we studied parenting. As I have reflected back on my parenting over the last 18+ years, oh the things I would do differently...

1. I would be more patient. When they were little, I hurried everything along. I wanted them weaned, out of diapers, walking, sleeping through the night (which didn't happen until they were teens), wiping themselves, in school, out of Primary, driving, and through their 14th year. Now all of that has happened and I feel like I've only had them for a few months. It went too fast.

2. I would be more pleasant. I was too high strung in some areas. They know what they are and I'd rather not repeat it, so there.

3. I would be more playful. I was too worried about my housework, their chores, etc. I didn't play enough. 

4. I would be more present. I wasn't all that attentive to subjects like pokemon and nintendo games and barbies and such. Those would have been great times to talk and I missed them.

As I contemplated the past, I asked myself, "can I still do these things?" Absolutely. Yes I can. And And that's why I'll be a killer Grandma!
Verlee
3/29/2013 03:13:09 am

ummm, I have a hard time believing you weren't playful...maybe that is different than being 'playful enough'... you are one of the most playful persons I have known.
It seems like after high school hits, it's about over. I am already dying thinking of the empty house...in a few years. :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am returning to school after....several....years. I declared my major as Sociology because that's where the vast amount of my credits were from....several....years ago. I was even signed up for a Soc. class but I never could get excited about it. I got a way for a "Best Friend" overnighter to Helena, MT. (where all great inspiration happens) and after talking Jackie's ear off and getting her educated (she just finished her Bachelor's degree at BYU-I) advice, I switched my major to Marriage and Family and I have felt  like a million bucks ever since (which is good because that is what it will cost me, I'm sure).  I LOVE being a wife and mother and I am fascinated by parenting and families so I'm not quite sure why it took me so long to commit to this course of study but however windy the road, as long as you get there, who cares!!

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All