What a topic! 

I was intrigued in our class this week at the gender discussion and the same-sex attraction discussion. I could have stayed there for hours. (I do try very hard not to raise my hand very much because I KNOW I could monopolize the entire discussion because it's so fascinating to me but this week, I didn't do so well in my quest to keep my hand in it's pocket.)

A couple of main points that struck me in my study are this:

1. We are created with predetermined gender genes. That is "who I am."  I also come with predisposed character traits. I AM a girl and that cannot be changed but I am not my character traits because I can choose to follow those and use them or ignore them and obtain different ones. This is fundamental to me in regards to God's plan. Biology predisposes people to certain behaviors, nature gives us experiences that influences those behaviors and God gives us the choice in how we will behave.

2. Science is not absolute and just because the media reports on something doesn't make it true. The media is there to make money and media ethics and integrity has all but left the station. 

3. Men and women are made different. Men's brains and bodies work differently than women's and I believe that it's in God's infinite wisdom that we are told to marry someone from the opposite sex and be bound for eternity and then make it work. We need to be grateful for the gender we are and be grateful for the wonderful things our spouse brings to the marriage but we also need to learn from one another and incorporate the good traits that we learn. A timid woman can become more assertive. A unthinking man can become more sensitive. These are great attributes for all humans.

4. If women want true equality, do not ask to have tests and challenges changed for you. Work hard to meet the standards that have been set. If you cannot do the tasks the job requires, either get that way or let it go. If a woman can't lift me out of a burning building, she shouldn't be a fire fighter. I know a lot of women want to be able to be bosses and earn the same money and so forth but they need to consider first, what are they willing to sacrifice? If you are willing to sacrifice raising your children to let someone else do it, it's probably better that you don't have any children. Be willing to sacrifice your desire to have it all for having a really good part of some of it.


Michelle Rhodes
2/10/2013 09:23:32 pm

I would love to be in your class. I agree with all you have written. I think it is incredibly hard for those who have same sex attraction to live within the boundaries The Lord has set, but I know several who have done it very successfully. I also loved your comment about really enjoying part of what you want and sacrificing for what is right. Since I have graduated, I have been offered several full Tim and part time jobs, all of which I would absolutely love to take as it is exactly what I want to do career-wise. All, however, would limit my availability to my children (and grandbaby!) and would mandate I quit teaching seminary. Because I feel so strongly that I should do both, I will continue to really enjoy the small contributions I make in my profession. Thanks for your comments. Good luck in school!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am returning to school after....several....years. I declared my major as Sociology because that's where the vast amount of my credits were from....several....years ago. I was even signed up for a Soc. class but I never could get excited about it. I got a way for a "Best Friend" overnighter to Helena, MT. (where all great inspiration happens) and after talking Jackie's ear off and getting her educated (she just finished her Bachelor's degree at BYU-I) advice, I switched my major to Marriage and Family and I have felt  like a million bucks ever since (which is good because that is what it will cost me, I'm sure).  I LOVE being a wife and mother and I am fascinated by parenting and families so I'm not quite sure why it took me so long to commit to this course of study but however windy the road, as long as you get there, who cares!!

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All